Adoption Lawyers in Colorado Springs
In Colorado, it is legal for anyone over 21 years of age to adopt either a child or an adult. It is puzzling for some to hear that adult adoption is legal. Adult adoption is often for the purpose of inheritance. If a person wishes for a non-biological child to receive money, assets or property upon their death, then they may legally adopt a person in order for them to claim him or her as an heir. There are some, rare, cases in which a person under 21 may adopt a child or adult, and it would have to be court-approved prior to doing so.
When adopting a newborn, a parent or couple may be granted adoption prior to his or her birth, but the adoption may not be submitted to the court until four days after birth. If the birth parents decide that the adoption was fraudulent or there was any duress in the process, they have 90 days to revoke consent of the adoption. This doesn’t necessarily mean that the child goes directly back to the birth parents, though. The court will make that decision with the best interest of the child in mind.
Adopting Older Children
If a child is 12 years old or older, the adoption must be consented by him or her. For example, if a couple wishes to adopt a child at 14 years of age, the child has the power to refuse the adoption. This is true in all cases, whether the child is under the care of an agency or foster care or not.
Colorado law provides adoption subsidies for the fostering or adoption of a child with special needs under the following circumstances:
- The child is seven years or older
- The child has one or more siblings
- The child is at a high risk of developing a disability
- The child has been diagnosed by a professional to likely inherit any conditions that affect
their likelihood of adoption or placement
Birth certificates are accessible for parents only if the adopted child was born in the state of Colorado. In the event that the child was born in Colorado, the following persons may have access to the birth certificate:
- An adult adoptee
- The adoptive parent(s)
- Custodial grandparent(s)
- The birth parent who relinquished their child for adoption so long as the termination of the parent-child legal relationship was not due to dependency or neglect
- A legal representative
If the person whose birth certificate you are trying to receive is born out-of-state, then you must contact the state vitals record office of that given state.
The Guidance of An Experienced Family Lawyer
If you or your family need help with an adoption in Colorado, acquiring a birth certificate or fostering a child, contact Kinnaird Law for assistance and guidance.